



1st Meeting of the ECPGR Network of European Genebank Managers

Date Thursday, 16 November 2023

Time: 13:00-15.00 CET

Place: Teams

Chair: Lise Lykke Steffensen

Meeting Minutes

Welcome and opening of the meeting

All meeting participants introduced themselves.

2. Approval of the agenda

The agenda was approved.

3. Terms of Reference and Mandate

Chair Lise Lykke Steffensen presented the background to the network, the terms of reference and the mandate of the network. It was emphasized that the success of this network is up to all members and their engagement.

The participants discussed number of and criteria for members of the network.

Lorenzo Maggioni (ECPGR Secretary) referred to the terms of reference, that offers some flexibility regarding selection of participants for the physical meetings, see section "Members and participation in meetings" in the <u>Terms of reference</u>.

Criteria for members of the network will be considered further.

4. Election of vice- chairperson

The current Chair has been selected by the ECPGR Steering Committee for a two-year period. According to the terms of reference the Chair selects the Vice-Chair amongst the Network members and seeks the consensus of the Network members on their choice.

Chair Lise Lykke Steffensen suggested Ana Maria Barata as Vice-Chair. However, as Ms. Barata is soon retiring, the terms and availability will still need to be considered. Therefore, Lise Lykke Steffensen suggested to postpone the election of Vice-Chair until all is confirmed. When confirmed, information will be sent out to the network.





5. Results of questionnaire

Lise Lykke Steffensen presented the results of the questionnaire.

The network discussed the importance of having clear objectives and goals and the potential to help each other as an expert body conducting reports, reviews etc.

6. Planning for next year's meetings, discussion and decisions.

a. Next years topics

The participants discussed potential topics for future meetings with the following input:

- o Developments and strategies of improving genebanks
- o Improving quality management systems
- Exchange of materials
- o Fundraising
- Database management
- o Practical genebanking issues
- o Establishing the network and getting to know each other
- PRO GRACE
- Phytosanitary issues
- o Video information fx techniques
- Reviews
- o Legal aspects and restrictions
- o National programs/strategies
- o ABS
- o DSI

b. In person meeting – Time, place and organizers group

Lorenzo Maggioni informed the participants that according to the terms of reference the in-person meetings are self-funded. ECPGR may provide complementary funding for the organization and participants of category A and B ECPGR contributors, based on the available budget.

Ana Maria Barata has offered to arrange the next in-person meeting in Portugal. The plan is to arrange the meeting in April-May 2024. Date suggestions for the meeting will be sent out to the network.

The participants discussed the in-person meetings with the following input:

- The potential of hybrid meetings
- The potential to combine with other meetings
- At least one full day, potentially another half day
- Not only presentations/speakers
- More focus on group work and discussions rather than study visits
- Focus on certain topics





c. Digital meetings – Time and organizing

The participants discussed the digital meetings with the following input:

- Preferably 1-2 digital meetings per year
- Focus on specific topics
- Speakers on certain topics and discussions on that

The next meeting will be a digital meeting.

Any member of the network is welcome to host the next digital meeting. In other case, the Chair will suggest a host for the meeting.

7. Any other business





List of Participants

Lisa Achathaler

Agnese Gailite

Avlina Avagyan

Ana Maria Barata

Andreas Börner

Beate Schierscher

Brian O Connor

Bronislovas Gelvonauskis

Dainis Rungis

Erdinç Oğur

Ruveyda Alkan

Dunja Halapija

Gaynor McKenzie

Gergana Desheva

Gitana Stukeniene

Ivan Varnica

Dagmar Janovska

Jelka Šuštar Vozlič

Elina Kiviharju

Külli Annamaa

Lin Huang

Luis Guasch

Maja Boczkowska

Maja Jecmenica

Manuela Nagel

Matt Ordidge

Gregorio Muňoz Organero

Noam Chayut

Anna Nukari

Ludmila Papoušková

Popi Ralli

Silvia Strajeru

Tamar Jinjikhadze

Tekle Zakalashvili

Ulrike Lohwasser

Zeynal Akparov

Zoran Jovovic

Laima Sveistyte

Liisa Kübarsepp

Theo van Hintum

John Dickie

Sevinj Mammadova

Simon Attila

Lise Lykke Steffensen

Lorenzo Maggioni

Nora Capozio

Josefin Granö